Before You Buy Magnesium Oil Spray for Sleep: Work Out Cost Per Day

Health.com reports that magnesium gets through the skin less well than oral supplements, and none of the three sprays here states milligrams per spray. Price is the number you can compare: Cymbiotika renews at $32.40, or $1.08 a day, while an 8oz Amazon spray starts at $12.97.

·

Actual Cymbiotika Topical Magnesium Oil Spray bottle and carton.
Cymbiotika’s manufacturer product image shows the topical spray form. The photograph is not evidence that topical magnesium improves sleep or is absorbed effectively.
Photo: Cymbiotika

The three magnesium oil spray for sleep pages compared below give you the salt and the scent, but not the dose. None of them says how many milligrams of magnesium one spray delivers. That leaves cost per day as the number you can work out: about a dollar a day for Cymbiotika at its renewal price.

Stop if your skin reacts: Health.com says to stop using a magnesium spray if you notice “itching, skin dryness, or burning sensation.”

Cymbiotika and Seven Minerals Both Use Magnesium Chloride

The two labels that name a salt name the same one. Seven Minerals’ Relaxing Night lists liquid magnesium chloride (USP, or United States Pharmacopeia, grade) plus four organic essential oils: cedarwood, lavender, sweet marjoram and clary sage. Cymbiotika’s Topical Magnesium Oil Spray pairs magnesium chloride with aloe vera leaf extract and lavender extract.

The third spray is an 8oz USP-grade magnesium oil spray on Amazon. What sets the three apart, then, is the added ingredients, the directions and the price.

Health.com Rates Skin Absorption Below Oral Supplements

Magnesium taken in through the skin is less effective than oral supplements, Health.com reports. The same article says topical magnesium “is not well absorbed,” yet may be the better option for people with digestive discomfort or trouble swallowing.

That gives a spray one clear role: a format for people who find pills hard to take. It does not give a spray an edge on the amount delivered. Even if a spray printed a milligram figure, it would not match up directly with a capsule’s.

Side by Side, Cymbiotika’s Page Gives the Most Usage Detail

Each cell comes from the brand’s own page, with prices as listed around 27 Oct 2026. Rows run by listed price, highest first; Seven Minerals, whose page lists no price, comes last. “Not stated in source” means the cited page does not give that detail.

What’s in the bottle

Spray Magnesium form Added actives Magnesium per spray
Cymbiotika Topical Magnesium Oil Spray Magnesium chloride Aloe vera leaf extract, lavender extract Not stated in source
Amazon 8oz magnesium oil spray USP-grade magnesium oil Not stated in source Not stated in source
Seven Minerals Relaxing Night Liquid magnesium chloride (USP grade) Organic cedarwood, lavender, sweet marjoram and clary sage oils Not stated in source

How to use it and what it costs

Spray Brand’s timing Listed price (~27 Oct 2026) Label warnings
Cymbiotika Daily or as needed; 15-20 sprays twice a day $36.00 one-time; $28.80 first subscription order, then $32.40 every 30 days Avoid sensitive areas; keep off clothing and lotions until absorbed
Amazon 8oz Not stated in source From $12.97 (other sellers); $11.67 Subscribe & Save, as low as $11.02 at the top Subscribe & Save discount Not stated in source
Seven Minerals Shake well; apply before going to bed Not stated in source Not stated in source

Cymbiotika Works Out to $1.08 a Day at Renewal

Cymbiotika’s page gives both a spray count and a renewal interval, so its daily cost can be worked out:

  1. Sprays per day = 15-20 sprays x 2 = 30-40 sprays, per Cymbiotika’s directions.
  2. Sprays per renewal = 30-40 a day x 30 days = 900-1,200 sprays.
  3. Cost per day = $32.40 per 30 days = $1.08 a day; the $28.80 first order = $0.96 a day.
  4. Cost per spray = $32.40 / 1,200 = 2.7 cents, up to $32.40 / 900 = 3.6 cents.

You can’t do the same sum for the other two. The Amazon listing gives a price but no spray count. The Seven Minerals page gives neither a price nor a spray count.

Amazon’s sticker price is lower: $12.97, or $1.62 per fluid ounce, and $11.67 ($1.46 per ounce) to $11.02 ($1.38 per ounce) on Subscribe & Save. Its cost per day is unknown, though. With no spray count, the 8oz bottle can’t be turned into days, and Cymbiotika’s page gives no bottle volume to compare by the ounce.

The Label Math Stops at a 350 mg Oral Ceiling

FocusIQ’s usual method puts a label’s milligrams next to the milligrams a trial used, then counts servings. Sprays break that method in two ways.

First, the only milligram figure in these sources is for pills. Health.com’s article, which draws on Dr. Villegas, says oral magnesium is “limited to no more than 350 milligrams daily.” Second, the same article states, “Maximum dosages of topical magnesium have not been established.”

The $1.08 daily cost is real, but these pages give nothing to build a cost per trial-equivalent dose from. More label-math breakdowns are in the sleep and calm supplement guides.

Of the Two Pages With Directions, Only Seven Minerals Names Bedtime

Seven Minerals gives the plainest night-time direction: shake well before each use, then apply before going to bed, per its Relaxing Night page. Cymbiotika’s directions go by a count rather than a clock: 15-20 sprays twice a day, daily or as needed.

If you want a bedtime routine on the label, Seven Minerals names one. If you want a fixed spray count, Cymbiotika gives one. Its warning to keep the spray off clothing and lotions until it soaks in also matters if you apply it just before dressing for bed.

Verdict: Choose a Spray for the Format, Not the Dose

  • Verdict: A magnesium spray is a choice of format. It fits the group Health.com names above: people with digestive discomfort or trouble swallowing.
  • The flaw, with its fix: None of the cited pages gives milligrams per spray, and skin absorption trails oral supplements. If a known dose matters to you, pick an oral product whose Supplement Facts panel lists milligrams, and check it against the 350 mg figure.
  • Strengths: Seven Minerals names its magnesium salt, all four oils and a bedtime direction. Cymbiotika’s spray count lets you check its $1.08 daily cost yourself. Of the two pages that list a price, Amazon’s is lower, from $11.02 on Subscribe & Save, though its cost per day is unknown.
  • Who should skip: If you swallow capsules easily and want a dose you can compare with a trial, skip sprays and look at oral magnesium instead.

Next step: Before you spend $32.40 a month on a spray, see how oral forms with printed milligrams compare in Magnesium for Sleep: How Six Health Sources Rate the Evidence.

Quick Answers on Magnesium, Food and USP Grade

What is magnesium?

It is a mineral that plays a part in many body processes, including how muscles and nerves work, per Layla’s magnesium spray guide.

Which foods are naturally high in magnesium?

Health.com names nuts, seeds and leafy vegetables.

Does “USP grade” on a spray tell you the dose?

No. Seven Minerals and the Amazon spray both list USP grade. The grade line and the dose line are separate, and you need the dose line to do label math.

This page summarizes public sources and brand pages. It is not medical advice and promises no result. Check with a clinician first if you already take oral magnesium, if digestive trouble or difficulty swallowing is why you’re looking at a spray, or if skin products have irritated you before.

Next step: read more in Sleep and calm on FocusIQ.

Sources

  1. https://www.health.com/magnesium-oil-spray-benefits-7693149
  2. https://cymbiotika.com/en-us/products/magnesium-oil
  3. https://www.amazon.com/Magnesium-Oil-Spray-STRENGTH-Essential/dp/B01N0KQ9QJ
  4. https://www.sevenminerals.com/products/sleep-well-magnesium-oil-spray-natural
  5. https://laylasleep.com/blog/sleep-better/magnesium-oil-spray-for-sleep/