Before You Buy Omega-3 With Vitamin E: Find the EPA and DHA Line
The front label's "2000mg with EPA DHA & Vitamin E" names two of the three main omega-3s but gives no EPA or DHA milligrams. Find both numbers on the Supplement Facts label before trusting the 2000mg.

A fish oil’s front-label milligrams can hide its EPA and DHA.
One Amazon fish oil listing shows how. Its front label reads “2000mg with EPA DHA & Vitamin E.” That names two omega-3 fatty acids and vitamin E, but the front label and listing text give no EPA or DHA milligrams. Find those two numbers on the product’s Supplement Facts label before you trust the 2000mg.
The three main omega-3s are ALA, EPA and DHA
The Office of Dietary Supplements at the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) names three main omega-3 fatty acids: alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). NIH’s health professional fact sheet puts them in a larger group. Omega-3s and omega-6s are the two major classes of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs), which are fats with two or more double bonds in their chain.
So “omega-3” on a bottle is a family name. It tells you the group. It does not tell you which of the three is inside, or how much of each.
Where each comes from: EPA and DHA from seafood, ALA from plant oils
NIH’s consumer fact sheet splits the three by source. Fish and other seafood supply DHA and EPA. ALA comes mainly from plant oils, and NIH’s examples are flaxseed, soybean and canola oils.
Cleveland Clinic (page last updated 11/17/2022) lists “fatty fish (like salmon and mackerel), flaxseed and chia seeds” as omega-3 foods. It draws the same line as NIH, sorting the group into “DHA and EPA (found in seafood) and ALA (found in plants).”
The split matters on a label because the body does not turn one into the other at full value. NIH’s health professional fact sheet puts the conversion of ALA into EPA and DHA at “less than 15%.” A plant-oil omega-3 cannot stand in for EPA and DHA one-for-one.
The 2000mg is not labeled as EPA plus DHA, and $0.19 per count is a price, not a dose
The Amazon listing sells a 120-softgel bottle rated 4.6 out of 5 from 628 ratings. Read its front-label wording, quoted above, slowly. “With EPA DHA” says the two are present. It does not say how much of the 2000mg they make up, or whether the 2000mg is per softgel or per serving.
In October 2026 the listing showed $22.45 for the bottle, which Amazon puts at $0.19 per count, and $20.20 with Subscribe & Save, or $0.17 per count. Those are prices per softgel. To turn them into a cost per EPA+DHA dose, you need two more numbers from the Supplement Facts label: the serving size, and the EPA and DHA milligrams per serving. The checklist further down runs that math.
The 2000mg front label names two of the three omega-3s and gives milligrams for neither
This table lines up the three sources one omega-3 at a time, so you can see what a bottle actually promises before you trust its milligram number. The names and sources come from NIH’s consumer fact sheet. The foods follow Cleveland Clinic’s own seafood-versus-plant split. The last column reads the 2000mg listing’s front label.
| Omega-3 | NIH full name | NIH main sources | Cleveland Clinic foods | On the 2000mg front label? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALA | Alpha-linolenic acid | Plant oils: flaxseed, soybean, canola | Flaxseed, chia seeds | Not named |
| EPA | Eicosapentaenoic acid | Fish and other seafood | Salmon, mackerel | Named; mg not stated |
| DHA | Docosahexaenoic acid | Fish and other seafood | Salmon, mackerel | Named; mg not stated |
Reading across the rows shows the gap. Both named omega-3s come from the seafood side, and the 2000mg in the quoted wording is not tied to any row.
No recommended EPA or DHA amount is set to match a label against
NIH’s consumer fact sheet says recommended amounts of EPA and DHA have not been established. There is no official daily EPA or DHA figure for a label to hit, so the 2000mg cannot be checked against one. Cleveland Clinic names “helping to lower your triglycerides” (a type of fat in the blood) as one key benefit, but gives no EPA or DHA amount for it.
For the EPA and DHA amounts specific studies used, and how many softgels it takes to match each one, see what omega-3 studies used versus your fish oil label.
Food first: NIH says supplements cannot replace a varied diet
NIH’s guide to dietary supplements says “supplements can’t take the place of the variety of foods that are important to a healthy eating routine.” So the seafood and plant sources in the table above come first, and a softgel comes on top of them.
Pick a label that lists EPA and DHA separately
The 2000mg listing’s flaw is the one shown above. Its listing text has no EPA or DHA milligrams, so the page alone can’t give you a daily EPA+DHA amount or a cost per EPA+DHA dose. Its $0.19 per count is a price, not a dose.
So shop by the Supplement Facts label, not the front-label number.
- If you want a known EPA+DHA dose, don’t buy on the 2000mg alone. Read this product’s Supplement Facts label first, or buy a product whose label lists EPA and DHA separately, and set its numbers beside the doses in the EPA and DHA dose comparison.
- If you want a non-fish source, skip fish oil. NIH’s consumer fact sheet names vegetarian products that contain algal oil among omega-3 supplement types. See fish, krill, mussel and plant EPA and DHA supplements compared.
NIH’s guide to dietary supplements says products sold as dietary supplements “come with a Supplement Facts label that lists the active ingredients, the amount per serving (dose), and other ingredients.” Use that label in seven steps:
- Skip the front-label total. Go straight to the Supplement Facts label.
- Read the serving size. NIH notes that the manufacturer suggests it, but your health care provider might decide a different amount is more appropriate for you.
- Find EPA and DHA, each in milligrams per serving. “With EPA DHA” on the front does not count.
- Add them. EPA mg + DHA mg = EPA+DHA per serving.
- Work out the price per serving: bottle price ÷ (softgels in the bottle ÷ softgels per serving). For the 2000mg listing, that is $22.45 ÷ (120 ÷ softgels per serving).
- Divide the price per serving by the EPA+DHA total. That gives a cost per milligram of EPA+DHA you can compare across bottles.
- Read the other active ingredients. If vitamin E is listed and you are having chemotherapy, see the last section of this page.
Related reading: For Men Weighing Ashwagandha Benefits.
FAQ: Seafood has DHA and EPA; flaxseed oil has ALA
Which foods have DHA and EPA?
Fish and other seafood, per NIH. Of Cleveland Clinic’s examples, that means salmon and mackerel.
Is flaxseed oil a swap for fish oil?
Not for EPA and DHA. Flaxseed oil is an ALA source, and only a small share of ALA converts to EPA and DHA (see the NIH conversion figure above).
Does “2000mg” on a fish oil front label mean 2000mg of EPA and DHA?
Not by its wording. See the 2000mg listing above. Steps 3 and 4 of the label checklist show where to find the EPA and DHA milligrams.
Who should check with a clinician first
If you are having cancer chemotherapy, talk to your care team before taking a fish oil that adds vitamin E. NIH’s supplement guide says antioxidant supplements, “such as vitamins C and E, might reduce the effectiveness of some types of cancer chemotherapy.” The 2000mg listing names vitamin E on its front label. If you are unsure whether any fish oil fits alongside your medicines, take its Supplement Facts panel to a pharmacist or doctor.
That panel is the part of the bottle they can check against what you already take.
This page is general information drawn from NIH and Cleveland Clinic, not medical advice.
Sources
- https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Omega3FattyAcids-Consumer/
- https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/17290-omega-3-fatty-acids
- https://www.amazon.com/Advanced-Supplement-Support-Burpless-Softgels/dp/B07G2GW33T
- https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/WYNTK-Consumer/
- https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Omega3FattyAcids-HealthProfessional/